Brain Food – The Mighty B’s

I love my food supplements. I love food even more, however my food choices don’t give always me the daily satisfaction of guaranteed, consistent delivery of vital nutrients in a convenient form.

B-Complex vitamins have always been high on my list because I truly notice a difference when I get enough (or not). So it was with great interest that I read this article regarding how Vitamin B12 keeps your brain young. I figure if my skin can’t be young, then surely my brain can be, and that’s more important, after all.

Vitamin B-12 is typically found in animal-derived foods such as meat, milk, and eggs. Now maybe you carefully judge your daily portions of these things to insure you are getting plenty of B, but I doubt it. This essential vitamin keeps nerves and red blood cells healthy. (Nerves – does anyone having anyone standing on their last nerve? Maybe it needs reinforcement!) Deficiency can lead to anemia, nerve damage, tiredness, weakness, depression, mood-swings and numbness and tingling in the hands and feet. Not to mention that it’s depleted by stress, medications, exercise, sugar, alcohol…. and the list goes on.

I can personally testify to B-Complex nutrients helping me to stay sane and energetic. The B Complex family is directly related to energy production, making them necessities when it comes to metabolizing carbohydrates, fatty acids and protein into energy. And they are vital for regulating blood sugar as well as hormones, particularly estrogen. By the way, zinc is to men what B is to women in the way of hormones. So no snickering, men.

I could go on, but I think that’s enough said. So if you don’t supplement with B vitamins, what are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

